Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

About frosting and dubstep violin…

on October 24, 2012

Okay, this week started crazy with little relief in sight, and next week won’t be much better.

BUT, I found something interesting to share, and as long as I only spend a couple minutes writing about it, I can’t get into too much trouble, right?

Anyway, I’m not sure if other countries have this, but the cake/frosting company Duncan Hines has a new frosting. It’s called “Frosting Creations” and consists of a tub of plain stuff and you pick a packet of flavored powder to add to it. I wasn’t about to spend theĀ  money on the starter tub, but I picked up a packet of the flavor with which I plan to experiment later in other recipes.

I’ve read some reviews claiming it’s the most vile stuff on earth and others claiming it’s not so bad. I imagine if you make your own frosting from scratch this would be terrible, but for those of us that normally buy a tub now and then, maybe it’s less horrid. When I finally get around to testing the flavor powder in its own, I’ll let you know my thoughts.

What caught my attention was who is supposed to be the new spokesperson for the product line. There’s a violinist named Lindsey Stirling who has managed to make the violin much more modern and hip than I could ever imagine. She dances and adds some modern beats to her original music as well as a few covers of famous songs. Who knew dubstep and violin could get along?

The video below is the first one I saw, but other favorites include “Crystallize” and her new Halloween themed video, “Moon Trance”.

Hubby introduced me to her music this summer, but she has been busy for over a year writing music, making videos and touring. After finding out she would be the new frosting spokesperson, I decided that it was the perfect opportunity to talk about her in my blog, which lately has been mostly about food…

But hey, this was originally supposed to be a blog about whatever, food just kinda took it over…

If you like violin or just like music that’s a little different, give a look-see! Maybe when she’s famous you can be all hipster and say, “I liked her videos before she got famous”.

Lindsey Stirling’s home site: http://lindseystirlingviolin.com/

Her YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/lindseystomp

Hope you enjoy!

Please Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

