Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

Greetings and Welcome.

on August 1, 2012

Greetings All, and welcome to my blog.

What does KoSoADo mean?

In Japanese, these are prefixes that denote location of people, places and things. For instance, Kore, Sore, Are, Dore mean: This one(close to speaker), That one (close to listener), That one (somewhere else),  and Which one (3 or more things). These prefixes can be used to define who, what, how, where, and which, depending on the suffix of this flexible demonstrative pronoun system. Hence, for me, KoSoADo envelops Everything.

This is what my blog will be about. A little bit of this, a little bit of that, but mostly food, flavored by my Japanophilia. I don’t know if I can call myself a Foodie, but I do love to eat and cook. I have no delusions of grandeur, I do not claim to be a Gourmand.  My sense of taste was developed by growing up poor, making due with cheap ingredients, often forced to eat some quite unpalatable (to me) meals. So, yes, sometimes I prefer Velveeta to real cheese. I LOVE ketchup.

I had the opportunity to visit Japan a few years ago and fell in love with the culture and food there. I think if I had the time and money, I could eat my way across Japan and never eat the same thing twice. Seriously. This has influenced the way I cook, cutting back on seasonings to bring out the pure taste of food. However, when one is not able to buy quality ingredients, one must know how to carefully use seasonings, enhancing the natural flavors to make even a cheap meal enjoyable.

I hope you enjoy what you see, please feel free to leave comments. I know I’m not the only person to create a blog that included food on the internet and I won’t be the last. But if ONE person finds any of my posts at least a little bit helpful, then I will be glad.

~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway, I have been surprised by the amount of people I have met who do not cook and do not really know how. Even those I know who do cook usually don’t do it from scratch. However, I have met the occasional “grow it all yourself” type, but that’s going a bit too far out of my comfort zone. I believe in the versatility of food and how a little creativity can turn something “boring” into something “delicious!”

While I am far from one of those who can easily make a cake from scratch myself (nothing I make comes out the same way twice), I do know how to prepare tasty, easy meals cheaply by planning and preparing. Almost everyone has had to cut back on food costs lately, and honestly, I don’t see any relief in sight. While I’m not one of those crazy coupon clippers with tons of things in my pantry, there are a few staples I stock up on when the price is right. I won’t go into details right now, that could fill up an entire page on its own.

I do believe in the occasional splurge, as you will surely see as you learn about me through this blog. Sometimes the only ingredient is the best ingredient for the dish.

Something you will NOT (intentionally) see here: Gluten free, low-carb, fat free, sugar free, strictly organic, etc. I understand that allergies are an issue for many, and I leave wiggle room in much of what I post for changes.

Something you WILL see here: Sugar, butter/margarine, MSG-laden items, pre-packaged foods, Lots of breads, pasta and refined grains, frozen foods, etc. I do like to use fresh food and whole grains, but it’s not always what’s available/affordable.

I believe in the power of finding things on sale and using the freezer. This will be quite evident as I start to flesh out the posts here.

Well, I think that’s all for now,

Please look forward to my next post.

Please Leave a Reply

