Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

Dorayaki

on August 10, 2012

What is Dorayaki? Basically, it is a sweet pancake sandwich. Traditionally, it is filled with sweet adzuki bean paste (anko). However, as you will soon learn, my edibles heavily turn toward fusion, using what’s on hand or whatever suits your preference.

A quick Google search reveals tons of Dorayaki recipes all over the interwebs. However, who wants to actually make castella cake for a snack? All you need is some Bisquick all-purpose baking mix, whatever the pancake recipe requires (usually eggs and milk) and a sweet filling. Pancake mix works well also, especially since many of those only require water, but it’s less flexible in its uses.

What to use for the sweet filling? I’m actually going to use anko, but there are tons of options.

  • Peanut butter & jelly, Nutella, ice cream, whipped cream, sliced bananas, if it’s sweet, try it!

Peanut butter, Anko Dorayaki

 

Preparation: On the box, there’s a recipe for pancakes: (yours can differ)

  • 2 cups mix, 1 cup milk, 2 eggs.

This makes a LOT of small pancakes. Halving the recipe makes it easier on someone doing this for the first time and makes for fewer mistakes to eat. Smaller pancakes usually benefit from a little more milk (about a tablespoon per cup).

While I’m doing plain here, there are a number of ways to make this recipe different. Powdered Matcha (green tea) adds a nice green color to the batter and gives it a wonderful flavor with anko. Cocoa powder adds flavor without sweetness, while chocolate syrup or even hot cocoa mix adds extra sweetness. Sweet spices like cinnamon can be used for PB&J and chocolate chips are great if you plan on using ice cream. Use your imagination!

Now, for the cooking part. Surely, everyone’s made a pancake at some point in his/her life? Just in case, the basics. In a mixing bowl, combine your mix, milk and eggs (unless your mix just requires water) and any other flavorings you wish to add. Ours was just some sugar and vanilla. Stir with a spoon, fork, whisk, whatever it takes to get the job done. When it seems incorporated, set it aside and heat up a pan.

I tried using my Foreman interchangeable grill with the griddle plate, but I think it’s about to die as it never got hot enough, making cooked but ghostly pale cakes. I switched over to a pan on the stove to finish.

I use medium heat (your stove/griddle may vary) and melt a small dollop of butter/margarine in your pan. How can you tell when it’s hot enough? If you drip a couple of drops of water in the pan and it sizzles, you’re ready.

Now, it’s a question of how big do you want these suckers? Silver Dollar pancakes are about 2 to 3 inches across, and I’ve seen dorayaki up to six inches across. Any bigger and you’ll have to fold it over or roll it.

Mini Pancakes

Pour some batter into the pan, keeping in mind it will continue to spread out when you stop, especially if you added extra milk. When you’re cooking these, be careful with your first couple to get the timing right so that they’re not burned or undercooked when you flip them. Usually, when the edges are dry and the top has bubbles, they’re ready. Flip and finish. The second side isn’t as important as the first, as this side usually isn’t as pretty. Just don’t burn it!

Feel free to adjust your stove temperature as necessary to get an evenly cooked product.

As your pancakes come off the pan, store them on a plate, stacking them up. You don’t have to keep them warm or covered. When you’re finished, feel free to take some time to clean up, put away any extra mix/eggs/milk/butter, soak your batter bowl, etc.

If you’re not going to fill them right away, feel free to cover the plate in plastic wrap and store it in the fridge until you are.

Filling them couldn’t be easier. Just spread your filling on one pancake then sandwich another on top.

Choose Your Toppings!

Eating: Try them with tea or coffee, as a snack, for dessert or in a lunchbox!

Make a Sammich

What do I do with all that extra anko? I make Anpan, anmitsu, various other things are good with this stuff. Hmmm, I think that will require another post.

10 responses to “Dorayaki

  1. It's only P! says:

    Anko is also a Japanese girl’s name… I met a young Japanese woman who painted calligraphy for me on a scroll, and it was her name. :) It would be great to also read about your experience in Japan. I am also Japanophile but have not yet visited Japan. It’s on my bucket list. Good luck with your blog! P.S. Did you read Barbara Kingsolver’s ‘Prodigal Summer’? She grew up in the Appalachian mountains and this awesome novel is staged there.

    • Thanks for the book suggestion, I’ll check it out!
      I do hope you get to visit Japan at least once, the experience is unforgettable!
      As for the name, I would like to know what kanji was used for “An”. Kanji is the toughest for me as the pronunciation changes depending on the word.

  2. happyuan says:

    Surprise! You make not only dorayaki but anmitsuz too!
    Though I’m Japanese, I haven’t baked dorayaki. This post makes me feel like baking it. By the way, do you know “Doraemon”?

    • Yes, I know Doraemon, I should have mentioned this is his favorite snack!
      Hmm, anmitsu… If I could make shaved ice, I probably would do a recipe for that.
      Or maybe I could substitute ice cream or show how to make kanten?
      There are so many ways to make!
      “food” for thought.
      Thanks for visiting!

  3. kiisu23 says:

    These look amazing!!! I think I may have to have a go at making them!

    It’s such a shame there isn’t anywhere that sells Japanese food, so no anko for me :(

    I’ll have to do what you said and substitute ^.^

Please Leave a Reply

