Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Hamburger Bento Box

on September 9, 2012

Welcome to Shpadoinkle Weekly, where I share some nifty stuff that might make you say “Shpadoinkle!”

I know, I already have enough bento boxes.

These are my actual, authentic bento boxes, all 5 sets. Umm… can you tell I like blue?

But when I saw this one, I knew it was an opportunity to add a nice, large round one to my collection!

I thought it was cool I found a Japanese ad for the box!

These can be found on eBay or Amazon fairly cheaply, depending on the supplier and shipping charges. I found mine for about $5 at Amazon. Try different searches like “burger, hamburger, bento box, lunch box,” etc. Be careful! Check shipping rates! Also, I’ve seen this thing go for as much as $25 depending on the source.

For a little more, you can find the rectangular version as well.

More like the traditional bento shape.

Now, for my review. When I ordered it, I knew it would be Chinese-made plastic. What I received was actually larger than what I anticipated, even though I knew what the dimensions were ahead of time. And yes, I got lazy and used lots of stock photos. They’re better than mine.

It locks with little hinges on the sides. It opens easily, but closing can be tricky. there is a notch in the “lettuce” for the latch, so you have to make sure it’s lined up just right for it to latch properly. The “burger” is a bit pale for realistic meat, but really, that’s being nit-picky. Opening it up reveals its secrets that aren’t as evident in the pictures.

Take note of the close up and the shape of the lettuce there.

The spoon and fork are TINY! Even smaller than last week’s Shpadoinkle fork and spoon, although this spoon looks more useful. I tried, and they fit in last week’s container.

The bottom section is fairly large, just enough room for a nice sized lunch of rice and curry. Yes, the next time I make curry rice I’ll use this box! It will hold approx 400 ml.

The “burger” section has a lip that settles down around the bottom, helping avoid leakage. This section is fairly shallow, it would be great for sliced cheeses, meats, fruits, veggies,  packets of condiments, utensils or an oshibori.  It holds about 150 ml.

The final “lettuce” layer, with the top “bun”, settles down very slightly into the “burger” and has more room due to the open space in the raised “bun” section. This could be used for fruit cups, salads, larger veggies, condiment containers, bread, etc. It holds about 200 ml, not including the cover.

All snapped together, it’s pretty sturdy, the latches don’t come undone easily and the layers don’t shift. However, this container is NOT Leak Proof! There are no seals on the plastic, so take care when transporting very wet foods. I need to see if a layer of plastic wrap will help seal the layers. Don’t forget about the trick with the “lettuce” section when locking the container.

I would not recommend using this container in the microwave. At least, don’t nuke anything but the bottom section, and only heat that as briefly as possible. The two layers of my Hello Kitty box don’t fit together anymore due to the lower lid shrinking a bit from heating. I would hate for the latches on this to not close due to warping. You probably want to wash this by hand as well.

Just some more images of the “burger” container

Overall, this is a cute and useful lunch box. It would be nice if I didn’t need to use all the layers, but that’s what you get with a themed container. Hey, manufacturers! Why no cheese? Us fat Americans would like cheese on that! Just replace the lettuce. Microwavability would add to the usefulness of this container, but for $5, I might risk a bit of melting! (or maybe not…) At this price, I’m not even that concerned about leaking.

I give the Hamburger Bento Box:

4 out of 5 Baked Potatoes. Shpadoinkle!

 

8 responses to “Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Hamburger Bento Box

  1. kiisu23 says:

    I really want one of these for the cheese factor, excuse the pun :)

    But I don’t know if I would end up using it haha

  2. Great post, I admire the writing style :) A little off topic here but what theme are you using? Looks pretty cool.

  3. happyuan says:

    Aha, very cute! I’ve never seen such a lunch box.

  4. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Wow. I like one!

  5. So fun! I’m glad you got the round one and not the traditionally shaped rectangle. I know it sounds silly, but a rectangle burger (and possible lunch it’s carrying) just seems unappetizing.

  6. […] container should look familiar, it’s the hamburger shaped one I reviewed a while […]

Please Leave a Reply

