Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Plastic Portable Cutlery

on September 23, 2012

For this week’s Shpadoinkle, I was planning on talking about buying textbooks online. However, a shopping trip sidetracked that plan.

While browsing the kitchen section of Bed Bath and Beyond, I found a couple of interesting things.

First of all, I found a sauce bottle. It’s an ugly little thing, but it holds 2 ounces and is squeezable. Because the bottle is make from silicone, it can fit into tight spaces, as long as the lid fits. I passed up on this because I have enough bottles and containers for sauce. That, and I’m trying to cut back on my container purchases.

With and without the easily removable label.

Second was a plastic version of my utensil set. The set was on sale, so I couldn’t help but pick it up. As you can see, the whole set is larger. The utensils are full size as well. The spoon and fork are of a decent size to actually be able to feed a hungry adult. While the chopsticks have a nice chunkiness to them, small hands may have trouble using them. However, the plastic is a bit flimsy, so the fork and knife might not be the best tools, even though the flexibility may help keep them from breaking.

Composite of all the different utensils assembled

Due to the small clip mechanism that holds the handles to the working ends, I’m sure this set may wear down quickly. As long as it works,  I think I’ll be satisfied with the $3 that was spent on it.

In my opinion, if there’s a BB&B near you, you should stop by and see if these are on sale (for less than they’re supposed to sell for) in your store.

I rate this a little bit higher than the metal set at 3.5 baked potatoes due to the functionality of the utensils. Shpadoinkle!

3 responses to “Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Plastic Portable Cutlery

  1. kiisu23 says:

    ohhh those cutlery sets look great!! They never seem to sell useful stuff like this in the city I live :( haha

Please Leave a Reply

