Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Yet another bento box…

on October 8, 2012

Yes, I know, it’s a day late. Meh. I’ll go back later this week and change the publish date.

But it’s here, so that counts for something, right?

Anyway, I’d been staring at a little bento box all summer, trying to convince myself it was worth the expense. Spend more than $12 for a box that’s just big enough for snacks? Nope.

But, peer pressure sets in. Keith over at OH! Bento got the green version of what I’ve been staring at all summer. So what do I do? I find it for sale cheaper.  $9 dollars later, I found mine. In pink. Yes, pink. Only because blue wasn’t available. I waited for about a week for its arrival… and miss my Shpadoinkle post. But that’s okay, real life’s been getting in the way, anyway.

You can see the size difference with a couple other onigiri boxes.

And then it arrives and all is well. It’s much larger than I expected. And non-microwavable from what I can tell… but it’s 3 whole layers of snacky goodness! To celebrate, I packed a lunch just to prove it could be done.

deconstructed sammich, veggies(with the lid on), cheese and onigiri.

And that’s the last time I attack ham with a cookie cutter. Next time I’ll use bologna. I also will never again pack anything in it that might leak all over my lunch bag… Seriously, the veggies leaked on me! That little white divider doesn’t do much but cover and can easily get pushed in too far.

The evil veggies in question.

I have yet to see an onigiri mould that can make rice balls big enough to properly fit this thing. See that tiny little onigiri? That’s the size of my regular onigiri. My handmade come out even smaller… Plus the shape makes packing most foods a Tetris challenge.

For a short day, this plus my snack mix helped me get through.

The bottom is a bit small at 150 ml, but the middle makes up for it at 200 ml. Using the lid helps increase the containment. I like that I can use it as a 2-stack (by leaving off the black part) or 3-stack (with the black part).

No rating, it would be a bit unfair, as I combine the price of the item in with the usefulness for the rating. Was it really worth it? As long as I pack small lunches that won’t leak or don’t need to be reheated, maybe. It was a mixed blessing.

Coming soon… What do I do with apples the size of a baby’s head?

Seriously, they’re HUGE mutant things!

ShpaDOINKle!

6 responses to “Shpadoinkle! Weekly: Yet another bento box…

  1. Apples that big are perfect for being cored, filled with raisins, brown sugar, and cinnamon, and baked in the oven. Use foil – they make their own caramel-type sauce. Yum! Leave them unpeeled.

    • Hikari Tennyo says:

      Thanks, now I just have to get a corer that won’t also slice the apple! (Hand-coring is a dangerous proposition with my clumsiness)

  2. kiisu23 says:

    I love this box :) haha

    Sorry to hear your veggies leaked :(
    I haven’t had that trouble yet but I’ve only used it once.

    Where did you see it in blue?

Please Leave a Reply

