Ko-So-A-Do

Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

WARNING: Jelly Belly BellyFlops really do have EVERY flavor!

on July 12, 2013

Okay, I know I’m supposed to be finishing my Vegas post, but I had an experience last night… and it must be shared.

Everyone knows Jelly Belly, the American jelly bean company that makes some of the BEST jelly beans EVER. I say some, because there are a few other favorites, especially around Easter, but when I can go to the market and come back with a bag full of just my favorite flavor (Juicy Pear or Red Apple), well, there’s no contest.

So, this brings me to last night. Belly flops came out full force in spring, flooding shelves at discount stores like Big Lots and Grocery Outlet in 2 pound bags as well as little 5 ounce bags at the Dollar Store. What are Belly Flops? Here’s the description from Jelly Belly’s website:

belly-flops“Did you ever wonder what happens to the Jelly Belly jelly beans that are a little less perfect? Or the ones that somehow escaped the Jelly Belly logo stamper? Well, those are our beloved Belly Flops!

Belly Flops are no less flavorful, or lovable, than regular Jelly Belly jelly beans; they just come in wild shapes and sizes. You may find one that’s round, one that’s square, or you may even find a bunch stuck together. On very rare occasions, a flavor may not match a color. A red Belly Flop might taste like Blueberry, or a white one might taste like Chocolate Pudding. Crazy!

Belly Flop bags contain a lot of different assortments, and each bag is randomly packed. But you’re sure to get a good variety of flavors in each bag.”

.

I’ve bought the 2-pound bags and the little dollar ones for months with nary an odd flavor in the bag. But… thus one bag… must have gotten some Bertie Botts or Beanboozled beans.

Bertie Botts beans:

bertie botts

Have you ever tried these Harry Potter classics?

Beanboozled beans:

bean boozled

I REALLY feel sorry for the people who have to taste-test these things.

I was watching a Japanese drama, gleefully munching on my beans, when a terrible taste filled my mouth. It was hard to tell exactly what the flavor was, due to having more than one bean in there. All I know is the offending bean was dark. This was the first time I’ve ever gotten something other than a normal flavored bean. I will still buy belly flops while they’re available, but will watch what I eat a little more carefully from now on.

19 responses to “WARNING: Jelly Belly BellyFlops really do have EVERY flavor!

  1. Love Jelly beans and their wonderful colors. I wonder if the Bertie Botts do have the real taste as described in Harry Porter books, I remember the strange name and taste such as earwax, or something frog related :D

  2. sharon says:

    Just found your blog post after googling for info about these Belly Flops. Only moments ago, I was happily chewing on my first bag of these beans, when something foul filled my mouth!

    Realised it was the dark brown ones.. all of them tasted chocolatey yet bitter and awful. I’ve tasted all the Bean Boozled beans but don’t recall any of them tasting like this one! So I wonder if they also include mixed-flavour beans into Belly Flops… as others in the mix haven’t quite tasted the same as they usually do either.

    Ugh those brown beans… I emptied the whole packet of them just to avoid accidentally tasting them again lol.

  3. shenan says:

    Hi, I was just googling info on belly flops because all of the dark brown beans in my bag are HORRIBLE, they taste like burnt coffee aaack! I thought it was just me but now I know that there are definitely some funky beans out there, god forbid I ever taste the dogfood one haha!

  4. Sabrina says:

    Wow, I have to try those Belly Flops. The stories I’m hearing from this post sound awesome in a weird way. Thanks, Brina

  5. lolipop says:

    where can i get them

  6. Unknown says:

    I love this. Bean boozled stuff from jelly belly

    • Hi says:

      I don’t get why ANYONE would want to buy these! I’m not trying to be mean or anything but they shouldn’t be selling these. Someone who didnt know the flavors could seriously DIE from these. AND THESE ARE A TOTAL THREAT TO CANDY

      • Meme says:

        I know right! I agree that they shouldn’t be selling these and that people could get badly sick from it. and I AM NEVER EATING JELLY BEANS IN MY WHOLE LIFE!!!! I mean seriously I don’t want to die because you never know you might get a flavor SO BAD that you will die

  7. olivia cullen says:

    I want to know all the nasty and good bean boozled ones

  8. Ryan says:

    You can find Bean Boozled Games,Refills and Bertie Botts in Las Vegas at teenzand20s inside the Fantastic Indoor Swapmeet on Decatur and Oakey 1717 S Decatur Blvd BOOTH C12 702-757-1113 Lowest Price in the city! They are on facebook/instagram at teenzand20s

  9. Alien says:

    Wow, I was afraid the jelly beans went bad or my taste buds were going. I had about three of the evil beans in a sitting and was very concerned. I am glad you posted this. Now I can resume eating the bag.

  10. miya angel says:

    eww i just ate canned dog food today YUCK!

Please Leave a Reply

